it’s the little things.

Before I even begin, you need to know a couple of things:

  • I have a lot of socks.
  • I am not one of those people who care much about things like “style” and “clothes from this decade.” I am less “fashionista” and more “connoisseur of comfort.”
  • You may, quite possibly, be bored by reading what I write if you care a lot about the previously mentioned bullet point.

I’m one of those people that saves things. I have a little box on the shelf in my closet in which I keep socks. Not ALL of my socks, of course: just the ones that have been bereaved of their partners when the dryer has eaten the other.

I am aware that some people throw their single socks away. I just have a hard time with it, myself. Most of my socks are goofy, many of them are holiday specific (I know some of you just shuddered), and I wear them all. Sometimes my socks match my outfit. Sometimes…they don’t. I really don’t care. My students often ask to see which socks I’m wearing, and on those days that I receive things from them, socks are very popular in my gift piles. I guess it’s just kind of a “thing” I have, and it works for me.

Anyway, some of the socks in my single-sock-box have been there for years. I never give up, though I do sometimes ridicule myself (silently) for keeping the box with unwavering faith that my socks will somehow turn up after 5-10 years of being missing. But, I just put my box away, and keep hoping.

Last night,  the dream came true. I have had this awesome giraffe sock in my single-sock-box for a long time. I mean a really long time. At least 4 years, I think.

Well, after digging around in my dresser for a pair of pajama pants, I opted for a relic of the past: a pair of Mr. Potato Head pants with pockets. (I told you I was no fashionista.) Well, I slipped those babies on, and what did I find deep in the comfy left pocket?! I’ll show you:

Single-sock-box: Justified.

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

