Spring Fever

I haven’t written for awhile. This may lead you to believe that I have been doing exciting things with my time, but if so, you are sadly mistaken. Really I am just a regular old hardworking madwoman who has recently been overtaken by her (now) yearly obsession with increasing enrollment.

This, coupled with my newfound love for Google forms (which led to a relapse of my love affair with spreadsheets) and a penchant for the nerdy, has caused me to spend a lot of time just thinking of ways to document my recruiting successes (and failures) in impressive ways (that I am too embarrassed to really show anybody, because they’d probably think I was a geek).

Just a few moments ago, I realized that I’ve almost certainly lost my mind, because it’s 10:00 p.m. here, which is late for me, and I didn’t do my usual Friday afternoon stuff. This stuff isn’t super exciting, either, but it’s my habit, and I am quite often a stickler for doing stuff I usually do when I usually do it. But, I didn’t fall asleep exhausted from the week, I didn’t watch The Office on Hulu, and I didn’t even stop at Baker’s on the way home from work for a vegetarian combination burrito (best fast food ever). Nope. Today I came home, ate waffles for lunch, and sat down to make a list of my potential students for next year.

Of course, I already had a document like that, but the columns weren’t as neatly aligned as I wanted them to be, so I spent awhile doing nothing but playing around with formats. When that was done, my appetite for Microsoft Office was not satiated, so I imported my Google spreadsheet (which had been automatically populated by my Google form) to Excel, and played around with that for awhile.

It was not enough.

I ended up spending a couple of hours making a spread sheet that will show (as I enter names) how many students are in each classroom, which grades they are in, how many new students are in each classroom, how many more students I’ll need to fill each classroom to my target capacity, the total number of new students I enroll, the difference between actual enrollment and my target enrollment, the difference between this year’s and next year’s number of new students, and the difference between ’10-’11 enrollment and ’11-’12.

Oh, and I took a break in there to write a list of all the students currently in my school, just because I thought it would be interesting to see if I could remember all of them without looking. (I can.)

The worst part is that time flew like I was definitely having fun.

What a weirdo.

Don’t worry. I’m going to interact with more humans tomorrow.

Happy Sabbath!

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

