there’s a ___________ in the computer lab

I hate to repeat a topic already, but there’s really no avoiding it. Here’s the problem: I have already written about creatures in the computer lab, and I have already written about birds.

I’m starting to become accustomed to people telling me “there’s a (insert strange wild animal species) in the computer lab!” This is probably something that many school professionals do not have to deal with regularly, but I guess that’s what I get for attempting to provide education in the untamed wilderness of Southern California.

Yesterday there was a hummingbird in the computer lab. I didn’t even bother with the obligatory disbelieving “Really?!” this time, because by now I am resigned to these things.

I really don’t know how these things always happen when MY class is supposed to be in there, but it seems to be our lot. To be fair, the first and second graders found him before we did, this time.

The poor little thing was scared and tired, and would not fly out the door, even though he was so close!

It took awhile, but eventually one of our volunteers got him to leave the classroom. Poor little hummingbird.

I’m thinking of just changing the name of the room from “Computer Lab” to “Menagerie.” At least we could charge admission on Visitors Day.

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

