a teacher’s work is never done, but summer vacation always seems to be.

I have two distinct modes of operation, as far as my thought processes are concerned. During the summer, I try desperately to fit as much fun, travel, family, friendship, and leisure in as possible. While I am doing this, I am trying equally as hard to will time to slow down to an appropriate pace. Unfortunately, my will does not seem to be stronger than time (yet), so once again, my summer is over. As usual.

Now I’m entering the other phase, which mostly consists of finding things to look forward to. For example, right now I can pass right on through pretty much to Labor Day weekend, and my first Monday holiday of the school year. Nevermind that I have no real exciting plans for this day, and in reality will probably be spending it frantically catching up on my laundry, dishes, grading, and lesson planning. I will be able to turn my alarm clock off for one precious week day, and that is something to be excited about.

After Labor Day we have pretty much a big giant span of time during which I will be looking forward to Thanksgiving. It’s true that this space is just a bit longer summer vacation, but if you are a teacher (or if you’ve listened to me lament this fact before) you understand that September-November lasts much, much longer than June-July.

Happily, things seem to speed up a bit after Thanksgiving, what with Christmas, MLK Day, Presidents Day, my yearly birthday crisis, and Spring Break. You know how that goes.

But the point is that my summer is over. I saw a lot of family and a lot of friends in the past couple of months, and I am so glad of it. I didn’t get the chance to see a lot of you, and I hope I will be able to see you soon. If you don’t want to wait until next summer, come find me. I’ll be at school.

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

