we have some more praying to do

Today was rough. I have a very long list of things to accomplish this week, and I allotted quite a few of them to today. After fairly long day at work I left with a mere two items checked off (and really, my secretary did the hardest one of those). Of course I did other things, but it’s still a bit disheartening to think that your list is growing longer and the days are growing shorter until school begins.

But.

No matter how much complaining I do, or how hard this job is, and no matter which weird things happen to stop me from conquering my lists; I love the job.

I love my coworkers, I love my students, and I love working in a small Adventist school.

Today, at work, we received the news that a teaching principal in a little SDA school in Memphis had been stabbed by one of her students. She died, and the police have the student in custody.

I can’t even imagine.

I just know that this woman, the principal, would never have imagined that a student would hurt her. I know this because I can’t imagine it myself, and I would never be able to think a student of my own would be capable of something so terrible. Even after hearing this story I have a hard time believing, in my heart, that it could be true.

Reading the article about this awful tragedy is sobering to me, especially when I consider how similar my school is to that one, and, of course, because I am a teaching principal.

It certainly makes my own pre-week woes seem…less.

The other day I was talking to my mom about how I’ve been having these little fears about my students being safe this week, right before they come back to school. Last year there was an accident and one of my kids, an almost-third grader, died. It was really hard on everyone, of course. I would never wish such a tragedy on any family, on any school.

Now it’s another year, and it’s not my school in crisis, but it’s my sister school and I know a little piece of what they’re feeling. Please pray for them. Please pray for that student.

And please pray for my students too. I need them to stay safe.

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

