ahh, September.

September is a stressful month in the school world. I was recently reflecting upon the fact that it used to be perfectly acceptable to take a vacation to a sanitarium and renew your health and bolster your spirit through healthy meals, good company, and vigorous calisthenics.

Don’t worry. I’m not checking myself into a sanitarium, but I am beginning to think of my life as an exercise in insanity.

So, I’ve decided to do one of my favorite stress-relieving things and make a list. Here’s some stuff that has amused and/or heartened me recently:

  • One of my lovely students (a ninth grader, no less) complimented me on my scarf today (it was tied in my hair). She said it matched my shirt and it looked really cool. For those of you unfamiliar with ninth graders, this is very high praise.
  • Last week two of my kids were having an argument over who was a better “thrower,” despite the fact that neither of them were hitting their mark. I seized this wonderful teachable moment (you had to see that coming) to remind them about the morning’s worship lesson and said (wisely), “Hmm, it sounds like you need to take the log out of your eye before you take the speck out of hers.” At that, the victim of my righteousness turned to his companion and declared, “Hey, she’s using the Bible on us!”
  • My hero, Wes Welker, made a record-breaking touchdown in the season opener last week. I love that guy.
  • Tom Brady continues to be awesome.
  • The other night I spent a good 20 minutes (at least) in that fuzzy, pre-sleep state trying to figure out how old I am. I really still wasn’t sure the next day. I guess “old” is the correct answer when this kind of thing starts to happen.
  • I taught a lesson about how to read and create flowcharts a couple of weeks ago, and my favorite student-created flowchart entitled, “How to make wine.” (bold move for a 5th grade student in an Adventist school, eh?) has just three steps: 1. Squish grapes. 2. Wait until they smell like wine. 3. Pour wine into a glass!
  • Today one of my students declared that I have to call him “Ed” now. All the time. Forever. But not Mr. Ed (because that’s rude).

Anyway, there’s some proof that it’s not all bad. I have more than a few reasons to laugh (even if it is at myself) each day.

I keep telling myself that October will be here soon, but I’m beginning to think that maybe it won’t make a difference. Can anyone else taste Thanksgiving?

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

