true love

I really, really love my son.

Really.

My baby guy has this (noncontagious) rash that is drying out his skin like crazy, and I’m at a loss for what to do about it. I’ve tried quite a few things (I’m wanting to avoid steroid creams, etc., unless they’re the only things that will work), but I’ve arrived at a point that diet is the next thing to check.

The only issue is that my little man’s only diet is breast milk, and we’re not going to change that, so…the dairy in my diet has to go.

It doesn’t seem like giving up dairy should be much of a big deal for me. Since my husband is lactose intolerant (though in denial of that fact), we really only keep almond and/or coconut milk in our house. I can still eat eggs (for now), so that’s fine.

But cheese. Oh, my beloved cheese. There is one lone slice of habañero cheddar in my refrigerator that is taunting me, and I daydream of delicious grilled cheese sandwiches on a regular basis. But, I love my son, so cheese is out. I will survive.

Or so I thought, until this morning when I went to the bakery to get a treat and was told that every single donut in the place had milk in it. Seriously?! Mama needs a donut. I thanked the baker (for nothing) and left, hungry, cold, and disheartened.

So here I am, on day three of a two week trial run, and I don’t have a donut to console me.  But I love my son. So if this fixes his rash, I will live a donutless life (at least until I find a dairy-free one) for as long as it takes. I’ll be the one in the corner, acting like raw brussels sprouts are just as satisfying as a raised glazed. “I really can’t taste the difference anymore,” I’ll tell you.

Please note: I have, perhaps, overdramatized this situation. If you are allergic to dairy foods, I will not even pretend to feel your pain. Mine does not compare. If you are not allergic but you are vegan, it’s your own fault. And I am fully aware that I am better off (physically, not psychologically) without a donut. But sometimes you need a decadent baked good, you know?

I’ll let you know if it works. Meanwhile, I’ll be over here munching my veggies and tacking a couple of years back onto my life expectancy.

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

