almost vegan

It’s been over a week now, and I’m still dairy-free.

Here’s the deal, people: I’m surviving, but it’s a jungle out there. Again, if you have allergies or are already attempting to live a dairy-free or vegan life, I understand that you already experience all this on a regular basis.

Here are some things I have learned in the past 8 days:

  • If you write a blog about going dairy-free for the love of your son, perhaps a wonderful friend will take pity on you and bake you a delicious, vegan treat and leave it on your doorstep. (It really happened!) Truly, it was amazing, and fulfilled my desire for a decadent baked good.
  • No matter what the internet says, almond milk with a little bit of lemon juice is not a great substitute for buttermilk in waffles. (I know there are plenty of dairy-free waffle recipes out there, but waffles are sort of a thing in our house, and they need to be just right.)
  • I know you won’t believe me (if you’re not vegan), but Silk Dark Chocolate Almond Milk is really, really yummy. I mean, really yummy. Personally, I think it’s better than regular chocolate milk, but I’m not really into drinking regular milk, so you may need to take that with a grain of salt.
  • Worthington/Loma Linda foods needs to reevaluate some things. Now, I say this with love as a dedicated lifelong vegetarian Seventh-day Adventist, but stop putting milk in stuff! Let’s just say that things got real when I realized I couldn’t eat FriChik. Or smoked turkey slices. Or Prosage. Yeah, yeah, Big Franks are vegan, but I’m a VejaLinks girl, all the way. I mean, come on.
  • My husband, when faced with a wife who can’t eat normal brownies, can make a delectable vegan mug brownie. As it turns out, this is a valuable skill for a man to have.

The most important thing I’ve learned, though, is that my little one probably does have a sensitivity to cow’s milk, because his skin is (finally) starting to look less red and inflamed. Thanks for your concern and prayers for my baby guy. There’s a long way to go before the eczema is gone, but I am starting to believe that it can be helped. I’ll keep eliminating (and reintroducing after a suitable interval) suspect allergens from my diet until his skin is clear, so, if you have a recipe for a dairy, soy, egg, wheat, tree nut, and peanut-free mug brownie (that tastes good), please contact my husband.

 

 

 

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

