getting old is not that bad

Nothing helps you feel quite as old as having a birthday. I find this is especially true if the five and a half hours of sleep you got the night before your birthday is the most you’ve gotten in awhile.

I may be getting old, but it’s going to be okay. Last night, while my son was refusing to sleep, I thought about my past birthdays, and how my life has changed drastically in a relatively short period of time.

Five years ago today, I was a teaching principal in California. I was single. And, until a few minutes ago, I really couldn’t remember what happened on my birthday. Of course I did what any reasonable person would do: I turned to Facebook to find the answer. Alas, there were no memories in the On This Day app to help me out, so I had to do a good old fashioned email search (because people still emailed to communicate personal messages back then). Here’s what I found out, people:

My husband (who was not my husband or even my boyfriend then) agreed to meet me (and another friend) for dinner, but then he canceled on us. I know. I couldn’t believe it either. Things have changed a little bit.

In 2012 things really got crazy. I had surgery on my birthday that year. It was an outpatient procedure to remove a benign tumor, but still, not the kind of thing you usually do to celebrate. But, my mom was in California to care for me, and I had a new boyfriend waiting with her at the surgical center. They got me home, gave me some popsicles, and as far as days you have surgeries go, it wasn’t a bad one.

Now that new boyfriend and I are married and raising a little boy together. We live in Michigan, and I don’t teach or principal or even vice principal anymore. My birthday celebration began with extra sleep when my husband took over the baby for awhile this morning, and by the time I got up, an amazing breakfast was ready for me. He made lunch, too, and it was delicious. I’ve gotten to spend the day with my guys, and if this is what it’s like to be getting old, I’m happy with it.

I guess I could be missing birthday adventures like the ones we’ve had over the past few years. We’ve cross-country skied, hiked huge sand dunes to get to frozen Lake Michigan, and even walked out on the icy pier to witness the frozen splendor that is (usually) Michigan in February. Those adventures are off the table this year, partly because we have a baby guy who would be endangered by them, and partly because it’s tough to cross-country ski on grass in the rain. But, the reality is that I am pretty thrilled with my quiet little life just the way it is.

Besides, if all goes as planned, we’ll be leaving the house twice today. In my book, that’s pretty wild.

 

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

