the boss

The sleep regression tide is starting to turn, or so I was thinking, because I’ve been getting my sleep back (a little). For two nights in a row now, there’ve only been three wake-ups, and I can live with that right now.

Of course, you get what you pay for, and apparently nap time was the currency I used to get back my night sleep. As it turns out, the nocturnal regression has simply gone diurnal.

Yesterday evening, like the heroic homemaker that I am (trying to be), I put the baby down for his final nap, rushed into the kitchen to prepare supper so it would be done when my husband got home, and got on the phone to do some business (i.e. be put on hold for 84 minutes). I had pre-diced the veggies for my curry, so all I had to do was get the rice in the cooker, get the oil heated and do the easy cooking part.

I probably don’t need to tell you that things didn’t go well. As soon as the oil was hot enough to get my onions in the pan, the baby started crying. Not softly fussing, like he’d be doing if I wasn’t busy, but really crying. So, I sighed, turned off the burner (safety first, everyone), put the phone on speaker in my pocket with the volume turned down, and headed for the nursery.

I was greeted by a baby who had wiggled out of his swaddle cloth, lost his pacifier, and spit up. So, I wiped him down, changed him, soothed him, and left him to fall asleep.

Nope. Didn’t happen. Screaming, yes; sleeping, no.

In the end, hunger beat me down and I broke. I rescued my son from his room, plopped him in his little chair, and he happily gurgled and cooed at me as I cooked dinner and finally concluded that horrible phone business.

My son, of course, learned instantly that if he cries I will not make him take a nap, so my life is basically ruined because I couldn’t wait any longer for a meal.

Armed with his new knowledge, he swindled me out of another nap time just this morning, and he tried to do it yet again this afternoon.

He may have won a couple of battles, but I wasn’t going to let him win the war.

So, after a brief nap, (mine, not his–I made the mistake of lying down on the floor beside his crib to wait for him to succumb to sweet slumber) I was able to regroup, reswaddle the happily playing boy, and finally, finally he fell asleep.

I’m pretty sure he knows who’s the boss.

 

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

