hungry

We’re not out of the woods yet with the four month sleep regression. There has been forward progress since the worst of it, but we’re still behind where we were a few weeks ago. Last night there were five wake-ups, and the longest stretch of sleep my little man had was two hours. One and a half or two hours at a time is not enough for his mama.

To attempt to remedy this issue, I’m trying to work on spacing out his meals. My baby guy thinks he needs to eat every 2 hours, day and night. I’m trying to disabuse him of that notion, but since I am a fully grown woman who also feels pretty hungry every two hours, I may have to cut him some slack on this one. The appetite doesn’t fall far from the tree.

Of course, I haven’t actually been feeding him every two hours at night, but that doesn’t stop him from waking up every so often just to see if I’ll give him a snack. What about now, mom? Now? Hey, you’re awake too!?  Unfortunately all this running around in the wee hours sharpens my own hunger pangs, so by the time morning actually rolls around we’re both raven and cranky and demanding our breakfasts. The little man always gets his first, which at least makes me feel very self-sacrificing, like a martyr mother should be.

Speaking of sacrifices, I’m back on dairy for a couple of weeks to see if reintroduction of the dreaded cow’s milk protein restores the rash to its former glory. So far, the eczema is no worse than it was at the end of the two lean weeks, meaning that the results are inconclusive at this time. Until something happens, I’ll just keep doing my part by continuing to eat the pizza, yogurt, and homemade gelato we’ve got lying around here. Also, my husband just made some peach cobbler. For the sake of my son (and science), I should probably go and try it. It’s been a couple of hours since lunch…

Have I mentioned that I love my new oven?

 

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

