let’s not make a big deal about it

I’m a fairly non confrontational person. I’m not a pushover when it counts, but in most situations I’m more likely to just let something happen than to argue about it. For example, if seven (yes, seven) people cut in front of me in line, my tendency is to pretend I didn’t notice, grit my teeth, and smile through it. I don’t like to make a scene.

However, I’m discovering that motherhood forces me to raise issues in situations that, had they not involved my baby, I would have just ignored.

A few weeks ago, I was changing the baby guy’s diaper with a bunch of little kids around. When I finished, I picked up his pacifier from where I’d laid it, right next to his head, and went to pop it in his mouth. Much to my horror, the pacifier was not his. Thankfully, it had not yet touched the lips of my precious boy, and I looked around to find what looked to be an at least 3 year old walking around with my son’s pacifier in his mouth. Um…

Obviously, I could not pretend this hadn’t happened and just walk away, but I also had no idea which parent to whom this thief kid belonged. I didn’t think I should just pull the pacifier out of the boy’s mouth, so I asked him for it. He refused. Uhh…

Finally, the perpetrator’s mother noticed my distress and promptly removed the pacifier from her son’s mouth, handing it to me with a smile (and about a gazillion foreign bacteria). “He does this all the time!” she said, laughing, “he’s not even supposed to have his right now, but at least he traded with you!”.

“Oh,” I replied. What are you supposed to say to that?

About a week later, during church, my boy was playing with his favorite toy while I was changing him on the floor of the nursing room. He dropped it in favor of stuffing his hands in his mouth, and a toddler promptly came over, grabbed the toy, and toddled right under the swinging doors to find her mother. I couldn’t leave my child alone, so I finished changing him, gathered up our things, and headed out to where the mom and child were playing with our toy. I greeted her with a smile, and told her that the toy her daughter had actually belonged to my son, and that we were headed back to the sanctuary for the rest of the service. “Oh,” she said, “okay, I’ll leave it on the counter for you when we’re done with it, and you can pick it up after church.”

Seriously.

She was true to her word, and after church the toy was there, intact, but laden with countless killer microbes.

I have a lot of disinfecting in my future, it seems.

Anyway, last week another toddler tried to take our toy. This time I saw it coming, and I properly defended baby guy’s property. I may never be a mom on the offensive, but hopefully I’ll at least continue to develop a good defense.

Please note: I have no problem with sharing. I just don’t like to lose control of objects that go in my son’s mouth to complete strangers and unknown situations. Is that so wrong?!

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

