lodge beats cabin

God sent us a giant snowstorm on Wednesday afternoon. It stayed through the night, and Thursday was a glorious snow day. Since I no longer work, you may be wondering what good a snow day is for me, but let me tell you, it was great. We were planning on heading up to camp on Thursday, because my husband is speaking this weekend. But, because of the weather all over the state, they postponed the beginning of Bible Camp until today and all the schools and the church were closed, so we had an awesome whole day at home together–Mom, Dad, and Baby Guy.

All of the little one’s naps were on time yesterday. He was still pretty grouchy, but I’m blaming it on his shots. Regardless, we had some pretty fabulous family moments, and I loved it. Oh, and my son slept for 4 hours and 45 minutes straight last night. Yes, that was the Hallelujah Chorus you heard echoing over Lake Chapin at 1:55 a.m. when I realized it was the first time I’d woken up all night. Of course it still only equaled about a 3 hour block of sleep for me, because I stayed up later than him, but I’ll take it.

Now we’re at camp, and let me tell you, it’s fancier when you come with the speaker (and not as a chaperone for 8th graders). We’ve got a room in a lodge with a hot tub, a bed, and even rocking chairs! Oh yeah, and extra bonus: we can see the tree where the bald eagle hangs out from the picture windows just outside of our room! This is a pretty good deal, since finding the bald eagle usually involves traipsing through knee deep snow this time of year. Pure luxury. I’m pretty sure I can’t go back to a cabin now, though I will always treasure the memory of waking up to -27 degrees and having to walk 100 yards (one way) to the bathroom as a pregnant lady a year ago. The funny thing is I thought I was sleep deprived then, after shushing twenty 13-14 year olds for what seemed like hours on end for one night. Ha! I know better than that now.

Well, the little one has stayed up past his bedtime, we’re in a new place, and tomorrow nothing will be normal, so I’m sure his schedule will be all out of whack, but we’re going to have a good Sabbath anyway. I hope you do too!

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

