redeemed

If you spend any significant time at my house, there’s a good chance you’ll hear someone singing to the baby guy. He loves music. Before he was an hour old, my husband sang him “You are My Sunshine” to soothe him and he stopped crying instantly. It was a pretty spectacular moment, actually.

“You are My Sunshine” worked wonders for the first couple of weeks, but since then the little guy has a new favorite song.

We pretty much stick to hymns and old Sabbath School or camp songs around here, and he likes them all in general. But, if you want to really calm him down fast, stop his crying, or make him smile in the midst of a whine fest, you’ve got to sing “Redeemed”. His dad was the one to discover that if anything is going to work (other than food), that old hymn is going to do the trick. I understand if you don’t believe me, but it’s true.

It’s a bit of a funny favorite for such a tiny little boy, but I kind of love that he loves it so much.

So, if you see my husband and I singing in the car or hear us while we’re pushing the stroller down the street or walking around in the grocery store, know that what we’re doing is proclaiming the redeeming love of Jesus to our little boy.

I hope that “Redeemed” remains the little one’s favorite for a very long time. I hope he keeps hearing it and listens to the beautiful words, so that he’s comforted by the message as well as the music.

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

