rollin’ along

My boy rolled from his back to his tummy tonight! Yes, his arm was stuck under his chest until he rolled back again (about .73 seconds later), but it’s a cool milestone and he did it twice while he was playing with his dad right before bedtime.

Change is the only constant when it comes to Baby Guy these days. He’s become very challenging to settle for naps in the past few days. He wants to play and talk and roll instead of fall asleep like he was doing just a week ago.

For about a month now, I’ve had to feed my son in a dark, silent room or he won’t eat. He’s so interested in every single noise-object-movement that if I feed him with anything or anyone else around he has to look around and talk to whoever or whatever it is. This isn’t too bad if we’re at home, but if we’re out and about for very long it means he doesn’t eat much during the day. I’m not sure if this is just a phase or if it lasts for the rest of forever, but I guess only time (or a mama who’s already gone through this) will tell.

Night sleep has gotten better. For most nights in the past week or so he’s had at least one 4 hour  stretch. This may not sound like much, but trust me, it’s an improvement.

In other news, vegetable shortening and PAM spray both contain soy, as do Oreo cookies (which are dairy-free) just in case you were wondering.

My husband made me dairy-free, soy-free brownies from scratch, and they’re delicious, though they do not have the same texture or convenience as a mix. Well, I guess it’s just as convenient for me, because all I have to do is eat them, but you know what I mean.

I’ve got to go rest up, because I’ve got a big day of trying to cajole my son into rolling from his back to his tummy again tomorrow. Practice makes permanent, right?

It’s not an easy life if your mom is a teacher. Baby Guy is learning that the hard way. (But learning, nonetheless!)

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

