rice cakes are a girl’s best friends

Let me first say that Baby Guy is six months old and just the sweetest, best boy I could ever have hoped and prayed for. Being his mom is the best thing that has ever happened to me, and not a moment goes by that I do not rejoice to play that role.

That being said, I thought, before, that true love was giving up cheese for another.

I realize now that this is not the case.

True love is giving up cheese, soy, and wheat for another.

Yep, I’ve headed further down the list of allergens, and as of last Thursday, I’ve eliminated wheat from my diet. Baby Guy still has troubling symptoms, and I’m not willing to give up breastfeeding at this point in his life, so it had to go.

I did make things a little bit easier on myself (and my mom) by waiting until I got back home from our visit to quit wheat. However, it’s not really an easy thing at all, especially because I am, and always have been, a lover of baked goods. When I even think about restaurants, pot lucks, or visiting other homes my primary feeling is resignation. I pity any person who has to attempt to feed me (including myself).

Self-pity isn’t very nutritious, though, so I also have a collection of rice cakes (they’re good with peanut butter, banana, and honey) and haystacks are working for me, too. I’ve subbed out the flour in my sweet potato burgers for nutritional yeast, and ditched the burger buns. My husband’s black bean burger recipe was already wheat-free, so we can keep that on our menu, too. I’m thinking that fresh veggie spring rolls will be a good addition to our repertoire, and we’ll keep haystacks in the rotation, too. Honey Nut Cheerios actually fit into my diet, so that’s pretty exciting. I almost feel like a real person at breakfast time!

Gluten free products are all the rage right now, so it’s not that tough to find things without wheat. The problem there is that many of them contain dairy and/or soy, and that all of them are more expensive than is really feasible for our budget (I found a box of brownie mix for $9!). So, we’re going to try to go the fresh produce route, and skip the special products for the most part.

Meanwhile, I am now free to use all of the time that I used to spend enjoying my food to do other things, like losing baby weight and looking at photos of bread on the internet.

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to rice cakes are a girl’s best friends

  1. Jeri Martin says:

    Hopefully, these will be allergies Emmett will grow out of.

    Like

Leave a Reply

