sweet potatoes of doom

So far, my son has not had a good experience with eating real food. I prepared him some sweet potato puree mixed with some breast milk, thinking it would be a pretty nice first food (since that’s what everything I’d read about it said).

Of course, though, Baby Guy hates sweet potato with a burning passion. The first day he tried it, he at least kept letting me put the spoon in his mouth. Today (the fourth day of the endeavor) he only opened his mouth once, and didn’t make that mistake again.

I will say that the faces he makes when I’m trying to feed him are priceless.

11885223_10208202881802497_7748887545067769432_n

I mean, seriously, can you even stand to watch the suffering?!

I think he might be smart to refuse it, though. His eczema (which was almost entirely erased as of last week) has been getting worse again since I’ve been trying to get him to eat sweet potato, and his face seems to break out when he tries it. Anyway, I think he might be one of the rare people who has a negative reaction to the usually benign sweet potato.

He hasn’t really ingested much of it, due to his stubbornness, so it doesn’t seem to be causing much intestinal distress. I’m not sure if the runny nose he has is related to those icky sweet potatoes, or if he’s just still getting over the mild cold we both had early last week. I’ll be consulting our pediatrician tomorrow, and I’m ending the torture and moving on to barley cereal for Baby Guy’s next meals (if the doctor approves).

I would be pretty thrilled if we discovered that sweet potatoes were the root (ha!) of all our troubles, and I could bring back everything else. I’m not ready to make that call quite yet, though, so Prosage pizza with a side of crispy baked tofu is going to have to wait, for now.

We did manage to find a great meal to eat tonight, so if you find yourself needing a dairy, soy, sweet potato, and wheat-free meal; I recommend spring rolls with peanut sauce. We just chopped up the fixings and rolled them as we went. My husband also whipped up a fancy treat for me: rooibos chai boba tea with almond milk. Yum.

Not a bad way to end the day…

Tonight I’m going to bed thankful that white potatoes are not related to sweet ones. Every little blessing makes a difference!

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

