dreamy

Maybe it’s because I’ve been getting more (consecutive) hours of sleep, or maybe it’s something I’m not eating, but I’ve been having very vivid dreams lately. They’re the sort of dreams that are realistic enough situations that they could actually have happened, with a tiny hit of ridiculousness to them. I’m not very much into interpreting dreams, but these do seem like they may be windows into my late night/early morning thoughts.

First, I dreamed I had received a text from a friend. She told me how thankful she was for me (which was nice) and also for her dryer. This made sense, because who wouldn’t be thankful for their dryer, right? It got a little bit out of control with the rest of the sentence, though: “…because of those 39 loads of laundry I had to do today.”I think I might be stressed about my own piles of laundry, which may, incidentally, add up to 39 loads. We’ll see. When I awoke after that dream, I spent a good amount of time pondering how best to respond to such a flattering text message before realizing that I had dreamed up the whole thing.

Next, I dreamt of camp meeting. In this dream I hired a former student of mine (for the incredible sum of twenty dollars per day) to watch Baby Guy while I went off to stand in the shower line each morning, as well as to stay with him during a few other brief periods during each day so I could use the restroom. The whole bathroom issue is not something I had considered much during my waking hours, as yet, but after that dream I really started thinking that hiring someone to watch my son for bathroom breaks wasn’t such a bad idea after all. When I ran this genius thought by my husband he did mention that twenty dollars a day might be a bit much. I guess I’ll have to do without a camp meeting bathroom break nanny (or find a cheap one).

In the latest dream, I mentioned to my husband that he should be tested for food allergies when Baby Guy is (after he turns one). My husband responded by refusing that suggestion, telling me that he didn’t want to suffer through a skin test or a blood draw. I was fairly indignant about his response, since apparently the suffering that was too much for him was just fine for our baby son. But, of course, after taking a moment to calm down, I realized the real issue: he didn’t want to find out what his allergies were and have to quit eating foods he loves in consequence. In real life, you’ll be glad to know, our conversation about allergy testing (brought about because of my dream) was not nearly as contentious. Phew.

Anyway, my dreams have been amusing me lately, but I’m here to tell you that laundry, camp meeting bathroom trips, and eliminating delicious foods from your diet are all serious issues. The struggle, as they say, is real.

 

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

