the boy eats!

Baby Guy ate food last night!

But first, I’ll give you an update on the whole transition to formula and bottle feeding.

It’s going well, which was not what I would’ve predicted back on Tuesday, or even Wednesday last week. Tuesday evening found me at Rite Aid buying whatever they had that looked like it might induce my son to take even a single drop of formula. My purchases included a medicine dropper, a little plastic syringe, and a baby sippy cup. The syringe was the most successful, and I think we got a grand total of five ounces into our son over the course of the first twelve hours with the formula.

Wednesday started out terribly, too. I finally got my boy to drink something out of a bottle, a half-ounce of water. Then, I put an ounce of breast milk in the bottle and that was a big hit. As soon as I added formula, all bets were off. Eventually we had some success with a 90% breast milk, 10% formula mix, and Baby Guy ate just over fifteen ounces for the day. He was pretty shaky and cranky (and understandably so) all day, but by the time bedtime rolled around, he’d chew on the bottle for awhile and fuss and cry, but eventually he’d give up and drink.

Thursday began with the same chewing and fussing, but after the first couple of bottles, he began taking drinks without protest. I’d increased the amount of formula in each bottle to 15% and felt wildly triumphant.

Since then I’ve been regularly upping the formula percentage, and as of the most recent bottle, we’re at 60% formula, 40% breast milk. Yay!

It seems like his intestinal issues might already be improving, and Baby Guy is sleeping better.  He’s starting to gain back the weight he lost last week, too. So, other than the fact that I spend about a million hours a day washing bottles, pumping milk, making bottles, and washing pump parts; things are going well.

So back to the big news: Last night, after a week of largely unsuccessful attempts to feed my son butternut squash, it was time to try a new food. Well, mashed avocado was an incredible victory! He tasted it, made a funny face (surprise!), and then lunged forward to get the spoon in his mouth again. He probably ate a couple of teaspoons of it, though it’s difficult to calculate the amount lost to the bib, the fingers, and drool back. Anyway, I’m completely thrilled that we’ve found something he’ll eat, and since we have avocados around fairly constantly, it’s a food I can easily prepare and give him anytime.

unnamed-2unnamed-1

I’m still sad about needing to bottle feed, but, lest you believe I am sitting around in the depths of despair, I assure you that things are looking up. Right now a problem I’m trying to solve is that I have more milk than I can use, so I’m looking into donation to a breast milk bank. That way maybe I can help some little NICU babies, or babies and mamas with other health issues, even if my milk can’t help my own little one. Baby Guy is getting better, it seems, so all of the angst we’ve been going through is worth it. Thank you so much for your prayers for my little one (and for my husband and I), because without them I feel certain things would not have turned around so quickly. It’s so amazing that when I don’t feel that I have the strength or my faith feels hard to hold on to in the moment, there are others who are willing to intercede on my behalf. God has blessed me with great family and friends, and I am so grateful.

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the boy eats!

  1. Pingback: a slice of fpies | a teacher's work is never done

Leave a Reply

