battling the yeast beast

I’m at war, and I’m losing.

Baby Guy has this awful yeasty diaper rash, and despite a trip to the walk-in clinic (I was going to write a whole post about this, but I couldn’t figure out how to portray the characters in the story without using inappropriate language, which I am against), we’re past the two week mark with this one. Once it started looking yeasty, I switched the boy to disposables, so that I could be sure that any yeasts wouldn’t make it though the wash and reinvade Baby Guy’s little creases and crevices. 1 prescription powder, 2 tubes of Desitin, and about 2.5 landfills later, there’s no light at the end of the tunnel and I’m tired of seeing his poor little raw behind.

Today, except for a brief run to the store and naps, I kept him either diaperless or in a prefold without a cover over it. I think there were 14 diaper changes between 8 a.m. and 6:30 p.m., but I’m praying that keeping him as dry as I possibly could is what will finally kick this rash. I can bleach prefolds easily, and I won’t have to spend all our money on diapers this way.

The onset of the rash seemed to coincide with the transition to formula, coming on once Baby Guy’s bottles were more than 50% formula. The PA who saw us at the clinic blamed it on teething and didn’t seem to think that switching to formula would contribute to a diaper rash; but since he’s never had one so vicious before, I am convinced there is a correlation. In any case, I’ve felt like he’s been teething for months but there’s still no evidence of actual teeth, so I am not sure he’s been teething at all.

True to form, Baby Guy is almost completely unfazed by this diaper rash (he’s resisting changes more than he used to, but I’m not totally convinced it’s because of the rash). He’s been clingy this week, but I’m blaming that on the fact that we took a trip last weekend, and he was given his heart’s desire at every turn by all of the doting relatives with whom we spent our time. Now I can’t set him down or walk by him without a pathetic whimper, or a full-on fake cry to try to lure me to pick him up!

He traveled fabulously, and I’m telling you, the Boba wrap is the best thing ever for a plane ride. However, on this trip, flight attendants on 2 of our 4 flights told me I couldn’t keep him in the wrap for take-off or landing, which was a big bummer on the last flight, since he was already asleep before I had to take him out. Somehow I managed to extricate my son from the wrap without waking him, and then all I had to do was contort myself for about an hour while holding him in such a way that he would not notice that the wrap was gone and awaken. Anyway, FAA regulations do state that children may not be restrained in a harness or carrier during take-off or landing, but no one seemed to know why. The only answer I received was that it’s so that the child will not be crushed between the seatbelt and the person carrying him or her, but it seems absurd to try to buckle a child in a carrier into the seat with you. Either way, I complied when prompted, but I (gasp) ignored the rule on the flights in which the flight attendants didn’t seem to know it.

Side note: I finally found a yummy dairy-free, soy-free, gluten-free snack to eat in the Detroit airport: Moon Rocks peanut butter popcorn clusters. It was good and filling. The only thing was that it made me really thirsty, so then I wished I had a bottle of water.

We loved our visit with family and friends, but it’s also nice to be back home with my husband. It’s a crazy time of year with graduations, summer events for the youth, and camp meeting coming up, so my Mr. is really busy, but we get some downtime at home to watch Baby Guy progress steadily toward crawling. He’s got a good army crawl going now, though his preferred method of travel is being carried rolling. He’s babbling consonant sounds like mad, and it’s getting easier to make him laugh. He’s loving peekaboo and bath time now, and keeping him away from electric cords is a full-time job.

Sabbath is here, and I’m so thankful that my boy is doing well. I’m hopeful that soon we’ll vanquish the yeast beast and put my heart at ease (at least until the next thing…).

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Allergies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to battling the yeast beast

  1. Jeri Martin says:

    Dear Brianna,

    Try Balmex to put on his little bottom instead of Desitin. It worked better on my kids.

    Love you, Jeri

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. Pingback: a slice of fpies | a teacher's work is never done

Leave a Reply

