absence makes the heart a little bit cranky

Separation anxiety has set in at our house. It’s possible that stranger anxiety has hit, too, but I’m not completely sure if it’s that or if it’s just a manifestation of the separation anxiety. Either way, we can no longer be sure that handing Baby Guy to someone new will be thrilling for him. From what I hear, this is pretty typical of seven month old babies, so we’re celebrating it as a milestone.

The hardest part is that even at home, I’m often having a difficult time setting my son down to do anything. He needs a lot of reassurance that I am still around, and if I leave the room, he often protests. It’s not easy to have my previously easygoing, self-entertaining boy become so clingy; but, in a way, I’m loving it.

How incredible is it that, to my son, I am safety and reassurance personified? I hope this cry-when-mom-leaves-the-room phase doesn’t last forever (I don’t want my son to be that kid in middle school…), but at the same time I am loving the way my entrance into a room lights up his sweet little face and usually even earns a squeal of happiness.

I think it’s pretty fantastic, too, that you can take everything that I’ve written and apply it to my husband as well. (He doesn’t cry when I leave the room, Baby cries when he leaves–in case you were confused.) The other day when my guy came home for lunch our son shrieked when he heard him coming down the hall. When his daddy came into our line of sight, Baby Guy reached out his arms for his father and kicked his little feet with excitement.

I mean, really. Does it get any better than that?

So for now I’ll keep reassuring my clingy little one. I’ll tell him I’ll be right back, and I’ll keep coming right back so that he can feel safe. I’ll sit on the floor with him when I should be washing the dishes or making lunch. I’ll snuggle him for an extra few minutes after he’s done eating, and when the last page of the book has been read.

And, yes, I’ll keep having a pile of work waiting for me after Baby Guy goes to bed.

It’ll be worth it.

 

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

