thanks

It’s been quite a week at my house.

On Monday I tried giving Baby Guy some breast milk (not much), and it was clear that even the little bit that I gave him had consequences, so on Tuesday I decided that I would give up the dream and stick to formula from now on. I definitely feel sad about not being able to give Baby Guy a full year of breastfeeding, but it really seems like, for him, this is the best thing I can do.

It’s a tough pill to swallow, but I’m not going to lie, being off my diet makes it easier.

On Wednesday afternoon, my husband called me to let me know he’d been in a car accident. He’s fine, but the car has a lot of damage, so we’re waiting to hear the verdict from our insurance company. Since we are now, temporarily, a one-car family, he went off to the emergency room alone (just to be sure everything was okay), and came back with supper.

Let’s have a moment of raw honesty here: Baguette de France is incredibly delicious. However, to a hungry woman who hasn’t eaten dairy, soy, or gluten for awhile Baguette de France is basically the best thing it is possible to eat (at least in the Berrien Springs metro area). Also, a vege-turkey sandwich hits all three of the forbidden foods at once, so as the¬†inaugural meal of my post-breastfeeding life, it was ideal.

On Thursday Baby Guy and I had a nice impromptu playdate, and I went to the store (by myself!) to pick up some yarn for a new crochet project I’m working on for a friend. Husband had to clean out his car for what we’re pretty sure will be the last time, and then he came home and made me a delicious pizza. Glory.

Today was crazy and busy, and all of the craziness is magnified by the fact that we only have one set of wheels, so choreographing our comings and goings is getting tricky, especially as graduation weekend is upon us. I’ll let you know how it goes. Hopefully we’ll make it through without stranding each other anywhere.

Now we’re just starting to think about what we’ll do if we have to get a new vehicle. We were discussing it today, and I asked my husband (very earnestly), “What car would you want if money was no option?” That’s not exactly what I meant to ask, but since money really isn’t an option, perhaps it was apropos.

As much as we wish we didn’t have to consider buying another car, we could use something bigger and more winter-weather appropriate, and we could’ve lost a lot more than a car in that accident. And as much as I wish Baby Guy could still be nursing, he’s doing better on formula and his wellbeing is the whole point.

My heart is happy, and my cup runs over. I’m heading into this Sabbath with gratitude and praise (and cornbread).

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Allergies, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

