a pox on our house

My husband is off to church early this morning. Baby Guy is sound asleep for what will hopefully be a nice long nap, and I am enjoying some Sabbath peace and quiet.

My son and I will not be joining my husband at church this morning, and this time it’s not because we were up all night (though I did inexplicably wake up at 4:30 and never fell back asleep). In fact, this was the second night in a row that I haven’t had to get up to feed Baby Guy at all!  

No. Today we’ll be missing Sabbath School (one of the major highlights of my son’s week) because of an inexplicable bunch of bumpy spots all over Baby Guy’s face and hands. I think we’ve pretty much ruled out chicken pox, since it’s been a couple of days now, and the spreading of the spots has stopped, and no blisters have appeared. He has no fever, doesn’t seem to feel itchy, and isn’t really any more clingy or irritable than usual. It’s just that he looks like this:

img_4298

I don’t want to take a chance that he does have something contagious. Let’s be honest, I really just don’t want to be patient zero’s mom in a churchwide outbreak of unidentified poxes. So, we’ll sing our songs and read some books at home today and hopefully we’ll get some quality family time out in nature after the man comes home from church. As long as he can’t give his spots to the wildlife, I think we won’t be much of a danger to the community.

I hope you have a happy Sabbath (sans poxes)!

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a pox on our house

  1. Did you ever find out what the spots were?

    Like

  2. Pingback: a purple martin | a teacher's work is never done

  3. Pingback: a slice of fpies | a teacher's work is never done

Leave a Reply

