mille bornes

Trouble. Sweet, sweet trouble.

My son is nine months old now, and these months have been some of the fastest and slowest of my life. I feel like it wasn’t so long ago that I was a giant pregnant lady melting in the July heat and patiently explaining to people that, no, I wasn’t due any day now and, yes, I was sure it’s not twins. How could a whole year have gone by since then?! But, those nights that I spent in various very humble positions on the nursery floor, the rocking chair, my own bed, or pacing the length of the house just willing Baby Guy to please, please, pretty please fall asleep sure felt like long ones. There have been a few nights and days during which I was quite sure the fabric of time had completely unraveled and I’d be stuck in the same despairing please-stop-crying-I’m-feeding-you-bouncing-you-rocking-you-snuggling-you-what-else-could-you-possibly-need-right-now moment forever.

Of course, those moments all passed, and I’ve been rewarded a thousand times over for each of them with the sheer joy of all the other moments.

Though I really have enjoyed every stage so far, the past couple of months have been especially rewarding, I think. Baby Guy has changed so much since he was a little six month old sweetie. He’s still sweet, but he’s learned so many new things and keeps me on my toes by doing things I didn’t know he could do almost daily.

Here are some highlights:

  • He’s been doing an army crawl for quite some time, since sometime early in the 7th month, and I think he’s pretty much mastered the top speed possible with his technique. He zoomed around on his belly until just a couple of days ago, and now all of a sudden he’s starting to crawl up on his hands and knees.
  • During month 8 he mastered sitting up, though up until a couple of weeks ago, I still had to worry that once in awhile he’d just lean back and flop over with no warning, as if he always felt that there was a bean bag chair just behind him. Unfortunately for him (and my nerves), there was never a bean bag chair, only a hardwood floor. He’s got it under control now, and about a week ago finally really mastered getting to a sitting up position all by himself.
  • These days Baby Guy is pulling up to a standing position on anything he can find, and he’s not too discerning about whether or not it’s stable enough to hold him. This keeps us busy, and has motivated us to finally begin actually baby proofing this place. (And yes, we know we should’ve started months ago.) The crib has been lowered, the fragile/dangerous items on bottom shelves are being swapped out for toys, and I’m about to spend some serious time on Amazon seeking out cupboard locks and corner protectors.
  • Two teeth sprouted about a week and a half ago! We paid for them with plenty of night wakings and bouts of crankiness where there would normally be none, but those two little bottom teeth are completely adorable.
  • The teeth seemed to lead to a higher tolerance of solid foods. We still haven’t beaten our all-time record of 4 tablespoons of solids in a day, but we believe that the record wouldn’t have been possible without the teeth. They seem to have inspired Baby Guy to accept more spoonfuls (though nothing gets in that would require chewing, anyway). Banana puree tops the current list of favorites, followed by peaches, carrots, and watermelon. Avocado and peas are sometimes tolerated. Attempt oatmeal (or any grain so far) at your own risk.
  • Every once in awhile something random makes him laugh now. It’s awesome. For three nights in a row it was the word “kisses.” Yesterday it was my sneezes. That laugh is the best noise I’ve ever heard in my life.
  • Baby Guy waves! He doesn’t do it consistently, but he does it sometimes, and it’s pretty great.
  • Before the mean virus hit, Baby Guy was sleeping through the night once in awhile. And when he wasn’t doing that, he was sleeping at least one 8.5 hour stretch per night. There was a time when I honestly believed that it would never happen, but it did. June 6 was the first time, and I’m thinking of petitioning to make that day a national holiday (or at least a Michigan one).

I could go on for quite some time, but I’ll leave the list here for tonight. It’s so easy to let all of these changes go by undocumented, but I want to try to be better about keeping a record of these little milestones as Baby Guy passes them. I guess these posts will have to serve as a baby book, of sorts. My recommendation for you this evening is to find your children (if you have any) and spend a little minute thinking about how awesome they are. If you do not have any children (or if they’re grown up and out of the house), get some real sleep. Do it for me.

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

