next stop: toddlerhood

_BJM6636.jpg

Baby Guy is 11 months old and continues to surprise us every single day with new aspects of his personality, skills, and propensities for danger.

He’s cruising around the furniture, standing on his own for a few seconds at a time, and looking like he’ll try to walk any minute now. One of his favorite things to do is pop up next to us when we’re sitting on the couch. He thinks it’s hilarious and honestly; I do too.

Literature is another great joy in my son’s life. Animals, numbers, and colors are his favorite genres; add flaps or pop-out illustrations and it’s a guaranteed hit. He loves to sit and turn pages, and is learning to be more gentle with his books though it may be awhile until they are entirely safe in his hands. Pulling his books off the shelf and sitting in the pile is at the top of his to-do list every day.

My son loves the dishwasher with a burning passion. If it is open, Baby Guy knows. He can crawl to the dishwasher from anywhere in the house just faster than I can run there. His greatest desire is to pull everything out of the silverware basket and throw it on the floor. He has a slightly less ardent love for the bathrooms, but can still get to a toilet pretty quickly. He’s never actually gotten to play in the toilet water, but it’s not for lack of trying.

We’ve finally gotten to a good place with solid foods, and Baby Guy will eat the foods he’s allowed to eat with gusto. Due to his food allergy, the list is still fairly short, but his favorites are peaches, sweet potatoes, avocados, apple sauce, baby puffs, and bananas. He also enjoys carrots (in moderation), oatmeal (as long as it has fruit in it), corn, peas, Cheerios, and cinnamon to add a little bit of spice to things.

_BJM6584.jpg

Baby Guy is as vocal as ever, but starting to sound more verbal. He might say “dad” and I think he’s said “up” a couple of times. He’s using baby sign language to ask for “more” food at appropriate times, he’s starting to fold his hands for prayer, and he’s practicing all sorts of sounds all day long.

He’s sweet. He gives kisses to us and to his stuffed animals (his foxes are clear favorites), and even to his favorite pages in his favorite books. He greets us with smiles every morning and at the end of each nap. He cried when his daddy had to go to work this morning, and watched the door for 2 full minutes before I could talk him into playing with me. He’s started giving us things all the time, though he does usually want them back pretty promptly. He tries to feed me when he thinks I’m hungry (most often when I’ve just modeled how I want him to eat something).

I could go on for a lot longer about the many wonders of my little baby son, who will soon be a baby no more, but I don’t have time to write it all, and I’m sure you don’t have time to read it. Raising this little boy is bringing blessings into our lives that I never could have imagined and even though it’s a really tough job it’s also incredibly fun. I am thankful every minute that God gave us this child to raise for Him.

 

About mrsmartin

I love to camp, hike, read, take pictures, spend time with friends and family, play word games, and learn stuff about all kinds of different things. I'm a Seventh-day Adventist Christian. I'm a vegetarian teetotaler. I used to be a teacher and now I'm a wife and a mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to next stop: toddlerhood

  1. Jolene says:

    He is ADORABLE. Love that food covered smile!

    Like

Leave a Reply

